Kim Hackman, M.A., NBCC, LPC

I grew up in Valencia California and moved to Colorado in 1982 when I was 12. I loved Colorado then as much as I do now. I have been in the human services field most of my life. As a teenager, I tended to patients at Penrose hospital as a candy striper and then moved to being a reading tutor at The Children’s Literacy Center for several years. My husband and I met at UCCS while I was attending classes there and we were married in 1997. My son was born a year later and I became involved in the Moms Club. As a stay-at-home mom, those playgroups and the other stay at home moms became my lifeline. Eventually, I volunteered to be the President of the Club and I enjoyed the comradery it provided me. My daughter was born a year after that and my days were filled with all things kids!! Thinking back, I really enjoyed those elementary school years and being involved in the daily home and school life. Somehow, I managed to be volunteered for the PTA and became our school’s PTA President. This helped keep my brain skills as sharp as my mom skills were at this point. I loved the leadership role I could have within this organization.
Due to my love of interacting with children and their families, I went to work as a substitute teacher both before my kids were born and after! I received a BA from University of Colorado at Colorado Springs in Psychology in 1998.

After many years as a stay at home mom, my husband and I divorced. All my past experiences lead to the best decision I have ever made; work-wise. I have always loved meeting new people, hearing their stories, and helping with any challenges they may have had. People have been coming to me for years by now for advice and it seemed my passion would soon become a reality. I started to pursue my dream of becoming a therapist and in 2011, I graduated from Regis University with a Masters of Arts in Counseling.

I began working professionally in 2011 at a treatment agency working with offenders. This environment allowed me the opportunity to work with individuals with addictions and wide range of mental health disorders. I thoroughly enjoyed working with individuals, couples, and families in this capacity.

I love spending time with my family, playing with our animals, and traveling. I enjoy reading and gardening.